Academic Calendar

Please note that the calendar below is subject to change. For the most up-to-date information as well as future calendars, please visit the Office of the Registrar website.

Other important dates and deadlines can also be found on the Student Enrollment Calendar.

Please also review Campus Policies and Guidelines regarding the Academic Calendar and Student Accommodations, as well as the Religious Creed Policy.

For further information regarding Reading/Review/Recitation week, please click here

For Summer Sessions registration dates and deadlines, please see the Summer Sessions website.

Add the Academic Calendar to bCal

For PDFs of current and future Berkeley Academic Calendars, visit the Calendar page on the Office of the Registrar website. See the instructions at the bottom of the page to "Add a Calendar to Your bCal."

Fall Semester 2022

Fall Semester Begins Wednesday, August 17, 2022
Convocation To Be Determined
Instruction Begins Wednesday, August 24, 2022
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Labor Day) Monday, September 5, 2022
Midpoint grading rosters open for instructors Monday, September 26–Wednesday, October 19, 2022 (9AM)
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Veterans Day) Friday, November 11, 2022
Non-Instructional Day Wednesday, November 23, 2022
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Thanksgiving) Thursday, November 24 & Friday, November 25, 2022
Formal Classes End Friday, December 2, 2022
Reading/Review/Recitation Week Monday, December 5–Friday, December 9, 2022
Last Day of Instruction Friday, December 9, 2022
Final Examinations Monday, December 12–Friday, December 16, 2022
Fall Semester Ends Friday, December 16, 2022
Winter Commencement To Be Determined, commencement.berkeley.edu
Academic & Administrative Holidays (Winter Holidays) Friday, December 23 & Monday, December 26, 2022
Academic & Administrative Holiday (New Year's) Friday, December 30, 2022 & Monday, January 2, 2023

Spring Semester 2023

Spring Semester Begins Tuesday, January 10, 2023
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day) Monday, January 16, 2023
Instruction Begins Tuesday, January 17, 2023
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Presidents' Day) Monday, February 20, 2023
Midpoint grading rosters open for instructors Tuesday, February 21–Wednesday, March 15, 2023 (9AM)
Spring Recess Monday, March 27–Friday, March 31, 2023
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Cesar Chavez Day) Friday, March 31, 2023
Cal Day To Be Determined, calday.berkeley.edu
Formal Classes End Friday, April 28, 2023
Reading/Review/Recitation Week Monday, May 1, 2023–Friday, May 5, 2023
Last Day of Instruction Friday, May 5, 2023
Final Examinations Monday, May 8–Friday, May 12, 2023
Spring Semester Ends Friday, May 12, 2023
Commencement Saturday, May 13, 2023
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Memorial Day) Monday, May 29, 2023

Summer Sessions 2023

Session A (Six Weeks) Begins Monday, May 22, 2023
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Memorial Day) Monday, May 29, 2023
Session B (Ten Weeks) Begins Monday, June 5, 2023
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Juneteenth) Monday classes meet Friday, June 24 Monday, June 19, 2023
Session C (Eight Weeks) Begins Tuesday, June 20, 2023
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Independence Day) Tuesday, July 4, 2023
Session A (Six Weeks) Ends Friday, June 30, 2023
Session D (Six Weeks) Begins Monday, July 3, 2023
Session F (Three Weeks) Begins Monday, July 3, 2023
Academic and Administrative Holiday Tuesday, July 4, 2023
Session F (Three Weeks) Ends Friday, July 21, 2023
Session E (Three Weeks) Begins Monday, July 24, 2023
Sessions B, C, D, and E End Friday, August 11, 2023
Back to Top