Academic Calendar

Please note that the calendar below is subject to change. For the most up-to-date information as well as future calendars, please visit the Office of the Registrar website.

Other important dates and deadlines can also be found on the Student Enrollment Calendar.

Please also review Campus Policies and Guidelines regarding the Academic Calendar and Student Accommodations, as well as the Religious Creed Policy.

For further information regarding Reading/Review/Recitation week, please click here

For Summer Sessions registration dates and deadlines, please see the Summer Sessions website.

Add the Academic Calendar to bCal

For PDFs of current and future Berkeley Academic Calendars, visit the Calendar page on the Office of the Registrar website. See the instructions at the bottom of the page to "Add a Calendar to Your bCal."

Fall Semester 2021

Fall Semester Begins Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Convocation To Be Determined
Instruction Begins Wednesday, August 25, 2021
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Labor Day) Monday, September 6, 2021
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Veterans Day) Thursday, November 11, 2021
Non-Instructional Day Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Thanksgiving) Thursday, November 25 & Friday, November 26, 2021
Formal Classes End Friday, December 3, 2021
Reading/Review/Recitation Week Monday, December 6–Friday, December 10, 2021
Last Day of Instruction Friday, December 10, 2021
Final Examinations Monday, December 13–Friday, December 17, 2021
Fall Semester Ends Friday, December 17, 2021
Winter Commencement To Be Determined, commencement.berkeley.edu
Academic & Administrative Holidays (Winter Holidays) Friday, December 24 & Monday, December 27, 2021
Academic & Administrative Holiday (New Year's) Friday, December 31, 2021 & Friday, January 3, 2022

Spring Semester 2022

Spring Semester Begins Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day) Monday, January 17, 2022
Instruction Begins Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Presidents' Day) Monday, February 21, 2022
Spring Recess Monday, March 21–Friday, March 25, 2022
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Cesar Chavez Day) Friday, March 25, 2022
Cal Day To Be Determined, calday.berkeley.edu
Formal Classes End Friday, April 29, 2022
Reading/Review/Recitation Week Monday, May 2–Friday, May 6, 2022
Last Day of Instruction Friday, May 6, 2022
Final Examinations Monday, May 9–Friday, May 13, 2022
Spring Semester Ends Friday, May 13, 2022
Commencement Saturday, May 14, 2022
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Memorial Day) Monday, May 30, 2022

Summer Sessions 2022

Session A (Six-Weeks) Begins Monday, May 23, 2022
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Memorial Day) Monday, May 30, 2022
Session B (Ten-Weeks) Begins Monday, June 6, 2022
Session C (Eight-Weeks) Begins Monday, June 20, 2022
Session A (Six-Weeks) Ends Friday, July 1, 2022
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Independence Day) Monday, July 4, 2022
Session D (Six-Weeks) Begins Tuesday, July 5, 2022
Session E (Three-Weeks) Begins Monday, July 25, 2022
Sessions B, C, D, and E end Friday, August 12, 2022
Back to Top