Academic Calendar

Please note that the calendar below is subject to change. For the most up-to-date information as well as future calendars, please visit the Office of the Registrar website.

Other important dates and deadlines can also be found on the Student Enrollment Calendar.

Please also review Campus Policies and Guidelines regarding the Academic Calendar and Student Accommodations, as well as the Religious Creed Policy.

For further information regarding Reading/Review/Recitation week, please click here.

For Summer Sessions registration dates and deadlines, please see the Summer Sessions website.

Add the Academic Calendar to bCal

For PDFs of current and future Berkeley Academic Calendars, visit the Calendar page on the Office of the Registrar website. See the instructions at the bottom of the page to "Add a Calendar to Your bCal."

Fall Semester 2018

Fall Semester Begins Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Instruction Begins Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Labor Day) Monday, September 3, 2018
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Veterans Day) Monday, November 12, 2018
Non-Instructional Day Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Thanksgiving) Thursday, November 22 & Friday, November 23, 2018
Classes End Friday, November 30, 2018
Reading/Review/Recitation Week Monday, December 3–Friday, December 7, 2018
Last Day of Instruction Friday, December 7, 2018
Final Examinations Monday, December 10–Friday, December 14, 2018
Fall Semester Ends Friday, December 14, 2018
Winter Commencement Saturday, December 15, 2018
Academic & Administrative Holidays (Winter Holidays) Monday, December 24 & Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Academic & Administrative Holiday (New Year's) Monday, December 31, 2018 & Tuesday, January 1, 2019

Spring Semester 2019

Spring Semester Begins Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day) Monday, January 21, 2019
Instruction Begins Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Presidents' Day) Monday, February 18, 2019
Spring Recess Monday, March 25–Friday, March 29, 2019
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Cesar Chavez Day) Friday, March 29, 2019
Cal Day Saturday, April 13, 2019
Classes End Friday, May 3, 2019
Reading/Review/Recitation Week Monday, May 6–Friday, May 10, 2019
Last Day of Instruction Friday, May 10, 2019
Final Examinations Monday, May 13–Friday, May 17, 2019
Spring Semester Ends Friday, May 17, 2019
Commencement Saturday, May 18, 2019
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Memorial Day) Monday, May 28, 2019

Summer Sessions 2019

Academic & Administrative Holiday (Memorial Day) Monday, May 27, 2019
Session A (Six-Weeks) Begins Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Session B (Ten-Weeks) Begins Monday, June 10, 2019
Session C (Eight-Weeks) Begins Monday, June 24, 2019
Academic & Administrative Holiday (Independence Day) Wednesday, July 4, 2019
Session A (Six-Weeks) Ends Friday, July 5, 2019
Session D (Six-Weeks) Begins Monday, July 8, 2019
Session E (Three-Weeks) Begins Monday, July 29, 2019
Sessions B, C, D, and E end Friday, August 16, 2019
Back to Top